Posted in Debate, goals, Health, Health Promotion. Diet

The Benefits of Lemon and Honey

Who has ever tried a cup of boiled water with one teaspoon of lemon juice and one teaspoon of honey? I hadn’t until recently,after reading the many and considerable health benefits of this drink, though I decided to put two teaspoons of honey in the cup,rather than one. I like things sweet!

It looked insipid and rather weak, bland and not very exciting. It tasted OK though and it was drunk until the cup was empty.
However, I wasn’t inspired to try it the next morning (the old drinking habit of tea beckoned.) Being honest,I can see why it would not appeal first thing in the morning and why many people would not bother with it.
But, my further reading encourages me to not give up. If you read anything about this subject of lemon and honey in a drink you will find much information about why it is so good for us.

Here are just a few reasons:
1) Taken on an empty stomach, it is an excellent colon cleanser and prevention of constipation.
2) It boosts our immune system and cleans our lymphatics .
3) It reduces infection and colds.
4) It suppose to help with weight loss, though why this is so I would need to research further.

( My fact finding then took me to this site linked here:). This is a comprehensive list and one which is repeated and endorsed several times over with other health-sites explored.)

http://www.thehealthsite.com/diseases-conditions/why-drinking-water-early-in-the-morning-good-for-health-p214/

It would appear that the super properties of both lemon and honey makes this a source of excellent health benefits. So, I am encouraged to give this another try.If you have read my other postings, you will know that the thrust of this work is to find ways of reducing costs whilst promoting health and healthy weight. Therefore, I have been reading about ways to conserve fresh lemon.

Lemon juice can be frozen in ice trays, and can stay fresh in the fridge for two to three days. The exact cost of both these food products I need to still check on, though I recall that it is very cost-effective. I shall be adding any comments on any other information found and prices of both lemon and honey from the supermarkets in the comments box. Also, how I have got on with my next task of drinking this daily for a week, without altering anything else to both diet and lifestyle. This is to see if it has any weight loss benefits for me

So, in the meantime, what else have I been up to since last posting?
I have re-organised my kitchen, its utensils, food and general cupboards. This blog is having one very non-predicted outcome: The organisation of my time.

In order to feed a blog, this requires planning,organisation and time to write and think over ideas- time I am short off. So I have been looking at my entire day and what I am actually doing, when and how. This has been the one and most positive impacts so far in my efforts to reinvent my blog postings. I have felt more in control and more organised and my morning routine has been calmer and a good start to the day.

It’s still taking me sometime to get posts done, due to research, editing and so forth but I am hoping I will get quicker and will be posting once a week, (if not more in the school holidays,) when I am not at work full-time. So please bear with me and keep reading.

When you work in an environment where a staff-room promotes all sorts of discussion you can not help but hear the conversations of others. I have heard about soya, caffeine and headaches, a new diet, ‘getting back on the wagon’ and not slipping. You see, lots of people talk about food and health more than you think. In fact, I think this subject is the most talked about, especially in women, but the one that generates a battle most people confess to be often loosing with the most weakness and the most frustrations. So I would be keen to hear from any body who has any experiences to share with me here, not only with this this beverage, but any other topics that could be included in future postings. My blogs may be slow but they are written with serious care. Thanks for viewing.

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

7 thoughts on “The Benefits of Lemon and Honey

  1. Hi Helen. It is one of those things that I try often. But tea Leads beckons . I know the benefits but just doesn’t taste the same as the first morning cuppa . I will try again. Great post. Take care x

  2. Since writing the post, I have now been to Morrisons to buy my lemons. A pack of 5 for a pound- 30 P bought each and Morrisons own basic honey for another £1. Starting tomorrow morning for one week.

Leave a Reply

