Posted in Change, goals, Government, Health, Health Promotion. Diet, Research

Launching H.E.L.E.N on a budget.

For many years now I have wanted to write. So I set up this blog, published some posts, then life took over and certain events took over and it has sat idle. Then, I started working in education- helping EAL ( English as an additional language) children and learning new things and now that old feeling of wanting to write something of use, of value just keeps coming back.

But what do I write about? I know people who have published their work and they have told me that you need a market, a target audience and lots of practice. Like any skill, you have to practice- like my drawing, and you have to want to do it and know something about what you are writing about.

Now, I have found the answer. For me, it has never been about publishing as an ego boast. It can be trendy to write novels, articles and get your name in W.H.Smiths. That would be nice of course but why do I want to write? I asked myself that question at the beginning of the year. It is simple: to write something that people need, that they want to hear. To help people- yes, that’s it.

I am passionate about health, well-being and nutrition, and as a nurse I have found that I am good with health-promotion and in general people do have confidence in me when they talk to me. I have been touched over and over again when people ask me things, at work and in a personal setting. I love research and I am good at that too. I have loved discussing academic papers with Kathryn – my daughter who is at UNI, and I have a Post Grad Cert in Women’s Health Studies which I should use.

So this is what I am up to. H.E.L.E.N now stands for Health. Eating, Learning. Education. Nutrition. Perhaps, my name has always meant to be this.:)) Recently, I have been watching a lot of weight loss and health videos (and the same message is beginning to  re-occur) but there is always a catch. For you to find out about this or that, it involves payment for that plan, that book, that slim fast club. You watch many, many minutes of information but … it keeps you hanging right to the end and then someone wants your money.

So, I am cutting through all of that by looking at the ideas and then doing my own research and I am going to share it for FREE to you. Because, that’s the next thing. Since becoming a teaching assistant I have truly looked in my purse and with the money I have say:

“Is this for food or petrol, prescriptions or can I buy X?”

I am thrifty and love a bargain and also know that for many on a minimum wage, feeding yourself and your family for health (note I did not say just for weight loss,) just feels impossible and can be time consuming. People start off with good intentions and then drift away.

Also, since, I have been on Facebook, I see all sorts of peoples’ experiences. Of suffering, of need, of joy and pain. Everyone is striving for one thing:happiness. Some see it in a holiday, a new possession, getting something fixed, going out, sharing, being kind, getting things of their chest or simply letting it all hang out….

So with my firm belief that empowering others, sharing, and creating the kind of life you want for yourself, my writing is going to focus, within this blog site, my own journey as I learn about what works for me. To be well, energised, happy and free. I am going to share with you everything I learn about H.E.LE.N.

Everyone knows the Mantra of ‘five a day,’ calories in versus calories out but we have a nation of sickness both physical and emotional on an endemic scale. I have known depression, have a skin condition, have joints that ache sometimes and have a sugar addiction, so I am with you. I am no different to anyone else struggling to get fit, feel well and be happy.

Therefore, alongside learning better English ( that in turn will help my job for the longer-term) this is my plan. Of course, you would say there is a lot of information out there already and, yes, you are right. However, I want to search through all the chaff and the wheat, the gimmicks and the good ideas and to hit it straight at you here for you to decide. This is personal, with a disclaimer, that I am not giving a medical opinion or anything other than general information, for you to go off and get any of the proper professional opinions you need.

It’s one good way to get writing and it’s one great way to feel that you might just be helping someone. If you want to keep reading… welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy the path as much as I am wanting to see where the path leads and takes us all. I am very excited about this!

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

6 thoughts on “Launching H.E.L.E.N on a budget.

  1. Great post, great name :-),..Good for you Helen, wanting to write and help people. Look forward to reading more. 😊

Leave a Reply

