Posted in Uncategorized

The Race is Approaching

   Not long to go now. I have now managed two 6 mile runs over these last two months. The pressure is on and the excitement, yet nerves increases.

Am I ready? Well, yes and no. Still 3 weeks for another final training haul and then that’s it. No more time left.

My aim is still to run without stopping. I will run until I drop before I stop. In my efforts I have trained and said silent mantra’s to myself. You might think a little silly but they do help. I have screamed at myself up gradients and pushed myself along when I have dead beat. My fav one is “I am Cloud and I can run forever”. For those of you who know me on Twitter my name is cloudgazer. 

I haven’t found it easy and still feel nervous when I set out to do a big run, thinking I can’t stop for another hour at least. My time to date for 9.89 K is one hour 16 mins. I have to finish the race in two hrs.

I am now really, really plucking up the courage to ask you all to sponsor me. You will be sponsoring me for this. That I will finish the race of 10K in two hrs. That my pledge is that I will do my level, level best to run, jog, crawl but not stop. If I can not run, I will fast walk, I will keep moving and get to the finish line.

Please, consider even a £1. I have trained for ten months for this and I have worked hard. Sometimes, things have got in the way and sometimes, yes, I have to kick myself to get out there, scold myself for being lazy. Yet, my determination to raise for my women’s charities has never been more sincere.

For those of you out there who wishes to eradicate Female Genital Mutilation support me. For those of you who wish to support a charity which gives tons of solid information for all kinds of women’s stuff, lists, organisations that supports the empowerment of women please support my other charity not listed on Just Giving, The Women’s Resource Centre.

Just Giving is unable to list my two charities, only FORWARD is listed. That is a bit of a disappointment, It would mean me having to set up another separate Just Giving Site and it would appear the Women’s Resource centre is not listed with them anyway. So this is what I am doing. I have a paper sponsorship form to for the East Anglian Run (GEAR) in King’s Lynn. So basically my aim is to collect my paper sponsors as well and divide the money as much as I can into two halves. I want to explain this to people. I don’t want to let the Women’s Resource Centre down. I am running for both, though the money from Just Giving will all be going to FORWARD

If anyone can think of a better way of getting round this please let me know. 

 This is my Just Giving Site and read a bit more about my story and why I am running on the 2nd May 2010

Thanks so much for reading and sponsoring me.

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

2 thoughts on “The Race is Approaching

  1. Thanks ever so much Sally. Just want to be doing it now and have a nice day like today for it. Love Helen. Can’t wait to catch up.

Leave a Reply

