Posted in Christianinty, Debate, God, Law, Music, Religion, Thoughts, Time, Uncategorized

I Have a Serious Question or Two

This blog is not written as satire or for fun. It requires no photograph or pretty picture to accompany it. It is a serious, short discussion for Christians who may like to give an answer or two. As someone who had a faith for over 20 yrs, in various stages and intensity, and who now feels that her own faith is pretty much dead. I need to ask these questions to my blog audience.

  A polite and reasoned reply is expected. I am not attempting to be-little or to remove anyone’s personal faith, in what ever way that is felt or expressed. Just trying to make sense of the thoughts I now ponder over on a daily basis. I have Christian friends who I have the highest regard for. This is not to offend them.

At my wedding my favourite  hymn was sung, ” What a friend we have in Jesus.” You see Jesus, the Son of God was my friend. He was there to turn to, to pray to, to be comforted and protected. He had my best interests at heart. He was a supporter of women and did not cast out Mary Magdalene, the prostitute, or the divorced women at the well. He understood me and did not judge me for all the mistakes I had made. He was a supporter of women. And Jesus was not separate from God: because he was God.

My friends know I am a passionate supporter for the human rights of man, particularly women’s right and this is my first question?

Did God inspire, move men to write Deuteronomy 22:13-21 as is quoted here. If so, I don’t like what God has to say.

If a man takes a wife and, after lying with her, dislikes her and slanders her and gives her a bad name, saying,” I married this woman, but when I approached her, I did not find proof of her virginity,” then the girl’s father and mother…. shall display the cloth ( that the couple slept on) before the elders of the town…. If, however, the charge is true and no proof of the girl’s virginity can be found, she shall be brought to the door of her father’s house and there the men of the town shall stone her to death.

You see, I was horrifed when I read in a book recently the above biblical quote. Do God support the stoning of women because of their inability to prove their virginity on their wedding night?  This was not the God I knew, through his son Jesus Christ. I am not well versed in the Old Testament only the New. But I  believed, both Old and New were directly the inspired word of God. You couldn’t leave bits out and say, “well, Man said that and not God”

I thought how I can have a friend who supports the stoning of women for something so unreasonable and antiquated. Many women’s hymen is broken long before their first sexual intercourse encounter by all sorts of ways that would have been relevant centuries ago. Horse riding is one set example. This proof seems insane to me. And the sentence is in-humane and utterly cruel.  

People will immediately jump on the band-wagon and say,” Ah, but that was only relevant at the time of writing. It reflected the society that was then not now”. But then that is my next question:

 God doesn’t change his view about issues centuries down the line? The Bible is supposed to be timeless, relevant  and the word of God that apples to today, just like it did yesterday. Or doesn’t that apply now, in this case, to Deuteronomy 22:13-21? 

I am now very confused. This passage was new to me. And I don’t think much to God, if he says do this to women. He is certainly not my friend anymore!!!!

I want to continue these thoughts with another blog. But for now this is suffice. I want to see if someone can explain this away. For me, he/she will have to be a very clever, biblical scholar to argue successfully the reason that statement is in the Bible, which if not the direct word of God is inspired from a Deity I thought I knew but clearly don’t????

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

3 thoughts on “I Have a Serious Question or Two

  1. I am touched by the sincereity of your post…and of your question concerning the ‘equity’ or fairness of God. To begin with, He is as you have believed Him to be in Jesus. Nothing is different about God in the Old Testament. But the Old Testament is ‘history’ and ‘background’ for the New Testament. Deuteronomy and the laws from God to man..are ALL to help man understand the significant and function of environmental, physical, and spiritual realities. In other words..the ‘right’ thing to do.

    The verses just above the one you quoted reminds that an individual should return run-a-way livestock to its owner. Likewise, any lost items should be returned. Stealing is a temptation for the ‘fallen’ man. And should not be practiced. Another verse reminds that men should not dress like women and women should not dress like men. The point being that male and female are each created equally for beautiful purposes and each should embrace their gender with gratitude.

    Another verse reminds one to release a mother bird if you find her sitting on her nest. Take the young ones if you choose for food. But release the mother so she can continue to procreate.

    Another verse (8)..and I LOVE this one..instructs to build scaffolding when building a roof on a house..so workers are not in danger of falling off and being killed.

    Another instructs not to sew other plants in or close to a vineyard to prevent the ‘crossing’ of the seeds.

    And now for the one you addressed. The ‘stoning’ of a woman accused of harlotry.

    In God’s heart of love and compassion..and because He is God and KNOWS the depth of EVIL and its consequences for the soul of man…He makes every attempt to teach by demonstration the reality that ‘sin when finished is death.’ Spiritual death. Hell. Eternal damnation. Not to mention..being separated..forever…from any presence of Light, Love, Life. Think about it. Just in the physical..what if there were no sunshine, no kindness..evil in the smallest thing…no fellowship with another..in any form…no fellowship of spouse, children, friends, neighbors..even our own soul. I can imagine the depths of true ‘desolation’ which is the end result of choosing evil and death.

    God in His INFINITE mercy..in the Old Testament..continually teaches by demonstration the ‘good’ things that should be practiced…for our good. And He continually warns…by example..the dangerous things which will potential take us to eternal death..if practiced. SIN IS DEATH. Man must recognize his fallen state…or his ‘free will’ . He MUST heed the instructions and teachings of God…since only God desires what is Good for man…desires Life for man…desires Love and Peace for man.

    In the case of the man who married the woman and decided he didn’t want her…God clearly addressed the issue.

    “De 22:13 If any man take a wife, and go in unto her, and hate her, (just doesn’t like her…or finds out after the wedding night that she is a harlot. In those days ..as now..the use of the procreative mechanism for mere pleasures was taboo, dangerous, physcially deadly…and worse..spiritually deadly. ‘Sin when finished is death.’

    “De 22:14 And give occasions of speech against her, and bring up an evil name upon her, and say, I took this woman, and when I came to her, I found her not a maid: ”

    To openly accuse a woman of harlotry was a HUGE thing. It impacts her, her family, and THE WHOLE NATION OR HOUSEHOLD OF ISRAEL. THEY ARE THE CHOSEN OF GOD. They have experienced tremendous revelations from the hand and heart of God. He went before them in a cloud after they left Egypt. He divinely healed those bitten by fiery serpents in the ‘wilderness’ as he taught them for forty years before the promise of Canaan was completed.

    The accusation MUST be deal with and the penalty applied. That teaches us the importance and danger of sin and its consequence.

    “De 22:15 Then shall the father of the damsel, and her mother, take and bring forth the tokens of the damsel’s virginity unto the elders of the city in the gate:”

    Situations were different then. The procreative or sexual mechanisms were much ‘healthier’ than now. A true virgin would ‘bleed’ after her first sexual experience. If there were an injury…and so forth..that, too, would be known. So, in the case of this scripture…it speaks to the masses.
    So the parents bring the proof of their daughters virginity. If the proof is there…the husband is chastised and fined a hundred shekels…the shekels going to the bride’s father for the wrong done him and his family before the nation of Israel.

    If the husband is right…and his bride is a harlot…she then is subject to the law of God which calls for ‘capitol punishment’ or punishment by death for such a horrific crime against God and man. Stoning was ..and still remains today..a standard form of execution.

    THE PURPOSE FOR EXECUTING SINNERS…was to teach by demonstration…to make clear…to strike fear in the hearts of all who consider sinning against themselves and against God Good plan for man….that SIN is progressive, dangerous, and spiritually deadly. IT IS FIRE! AND NOT TO BE PLAYED WITH.

    So you, onethoughfulwoman, should continue to study the Old Testament which is a ‘schoolmaster’ for the New. You can’t understand the New Testament without understanding the Old Testament. They are urgent parts of the same Book…Genesis through Revelations.

    If you ‘study’ the Word with a desire for Truth…God will give it to you. As you study the Bible, the Holy Spirit will open it up to you and will teach you what God meant by what He said. But if you study or read with it in your heart that God is unjust….you will find nothing.

    Time would not allow me to speak to the Truths of the Bible. But the core Truth is ..God is Love. His purposes and plans are perfect. He is perfect. He desire that ‘perfection’ for us with Him..both now and for eternity. God is the giver of Life. Lucifer is the father of Death, the destroy, the hater of God and man. He is vile. His deeds are only evil. He desires to ‘devour’ us continually. The whole point of scriptures are to reveal God as Spirit. to make us aware of the inner or spirit man we each posses, and to help us understand the ‘higher’ intent God has for those who ‘choose’ the ‘higher’ plane with Him. The flesh is ‘dust.’ When you get a cut or scrape..you see the ‘scab’ is just the ‘dirt’ the flesh has returned to. Life is not about the flesh. The flesh is just he shell the real man dwells in…the spirit man.

    Joh 6:63 It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.

    Good post, onethoughfulwoman. I enjoy reading your thoughts. And the answers you need can really only come to your heart from God. He promises ‘seek and ye shall find.’ ‘Knock and it shall be opened to you.’

    Continue to ‘study’ to show yourself ‘approved before God.’

    Again, thanks. Good post.

  2. I am very touched by the detail and depth of your reply. I thank you for the taking the time to talk to me. I have read it over but I need to read it several times I feel to even begin to give a response.
    Thank you for appreciating the sincerity of my words. I am not in the buisness of mocking God, but my heart has become truely hardened by all the horror I read about and ask why does God also allow these things. But that is another post. For now, I will concentrate on this.

  3. Oh the things we see and hear happening all around us. Haiti. Death. Destruction. Rape. Murders. And then there are all the other things we see and hear happening all around us. Life. Sunshine and rain. Fruitful fields. Beautiful people. Babies…. God’s little brilliant ‘lights’ in the world :smile:…can’t keep from twiddling their toes at Walmart. Health. Doctors. Medicine. Hobbies. Neighbors. Four wheelers. The wooded areas where I ride year round. Deer I see grazing in the edges of the wooded areas. Racoons whose eyes glow in the dark at night as they come to the ponds to water. Hugs. Broken people now whole. Helpers in Haiti. I so would like to be there moving rubble. The tinacity of lady bugs which don’t stop until they’ve found a way into my home during the cold. They are such personality filled little critters. The tender green blades of iris and jonquils already popping their heads up to the sun…even though it’s still ‘cold’ here in the south. The precious stories I hear from my kindergarten/teacher daughter. The joy of making new friends. The joy of new experiences. The memories of old friends…old experiences. The world is jam packed with two things….Good and Evil. But the Bad seems all we notice or remember. My husband and I lost a newborn at birth a few years ago…septal defect which is the most common birth defect..and I had never heard of it. Afterwards I began noticing all the ‘little’ monuments in various cemeteries. Than later, as my heart healed, I looked again and concluded, “Out of all the babies born into this world…most are fine. And compared to all those healthy ones born…the ‘little’ monuments indeed are few. But truth is…physical death is just as natural as life. It has its place in the whole perfect purpose and plan of God. But maybe we can discuss that at another time. It’s a perfect and LOVING plan.

    onethoughfulwoman….be still. Look around you…make note of all the ‘sweet’ things you see. If you want to find God…He very likely in Haiti since He’s found where needs are. I’ve seen so many miracles coming out of that place. So much strengh and overcoming spirit. So much genuine love and caring coming from the hearts of all around the world for the people of Haita….a beautiful people. God just has to be there.

Leave a Reply

