Posted in achievement, Change, Climate Change, Debate, Environment, Learning, Modern society, Politics, Thoughts, Uncategorized

An Evening with a Speaker

Yesterday evening was very exciting. I nearly didn’t go. It had been a surprising up-hill week in someways. It shouldn’t have been. I had only been working since Wednesday. But that was the problem. Having enjoyed a lovely long weekend, I just could not get back into work.

Anyway, I decided to go with Mr E  to see Jonathan Neale, a climate change speaker ( author of Stop Global Warming, Change the World) who was speaking at the old Quaker’s Meeting House in King’s Lynn. It was bit of a dash, the tea dishes had been cleared five minutes before heading out the door. Boy, it was worth it.

Jonathan spoke with a clear American accent, a voice of  mighty expertise dripping from his lips. He spoke with passion. He held us and interested us. He spoke with such an insightful view. The little meeting house was packed. He did not drag on – 25 mins in total, but we could have listened to him all night. Question time next. I was not shy in the least. I held up my hand and asked.

” Given that you state that 40% of carbon dioxide is absorbed by plant-life and oceans, as examples, how will  this figure be affected by the Indonesian rain forests and those of Brazil being chopped down at an ever alarming rate? Surely, this figure will be reduced, say over the next 10-20 years? ”

We gave him all our questions, on mass and he selected a few to answer. Mine was the first to be answered. His answer surprised me. Yes, it would be noticeable but not to the extent I had thought: interesting.

Afterwards was just as good as the event itself. Drinking tea, some of us, me right up there in the group, gathered around him and talked some more. Two other guys, I and the speaker, talked about population expansion and it strayed into women’s issues. I also spoke to an ex-teacher who had taught in Zambia. Our conversation was mixed around Charcoal holding in Carbon Dioxide and his thoughts over girls education. He had taught environmental science.

And, if that wasn’t enough, I also learnt the history of the Friends building by someone before the meeting. I was eager to impart this information to my dear friend Geoff who loves Listed buildings, of which the Friends Meeting House is grade II listed, C16- 17th and has stones within it from the old priory. It used to be a pub called The Old Hulk.

What a night it was. From that meeting I met a Humanist and I hope to attend a Humanist meeting on the 24th June, all about global education.

This may float very few people’s boats. But crazy or not, it’s certainly floated mine all the way down the  Quay where the Friends house is situated nearby.

A great evening. And Mr E got a lot out of it too. But that’s his tale and not mine.

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

One thought on “An Evening with a Speaker

Leave a Reply

