Posted in Atheism, Christianinty, Debate, God, Relationships, Thoughts, Uncategorized

Today

Funerals can sometimes have a weird and unexpected effect upon me. Even though I knew little of the person whose funeral I attended today, it evoked a moist eye and reflective response. It brought back times of another funeral I attended about three years ago. This generated a huge grief response from me. Again, while I was not closely related to the diceased person, the experience left me numb, frozen and in tears.

Today it did the same, only to a lesser extent, and the feelings were different. Before, it was a huge reaction to all sorts of losses and experiences that I had encountered and were learning to cope with through professional help. Today, it was more about a sense of urgency, to be thankful for life, love and friendships that I have. Also, to celebrate the progress I have made in my own life’s journey- since that last funeral.

Three years ago, I was a Christian. Today that statement, definition is very hazy. The term I give my feelings now is an agnostic position and this feels comfortable for the time being. I am not sure about where I will end up after this life. It’s not scary but it is unknown. All I do know is the incredible urge to seize the moment and live life by the day.

I could see myself laying in that box, as I looked down at the chancel, and I thought about all the people I love and care about. No one knows how much time we have.  All I do want to say, for the purpose of this blog, is what ever you want to say and do, do it. You don’t know how much time is left.

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

2 thoughts on “Today

  1. I agree that realizing that life is not a dress rehearsal but the real thing can energize one into action in many areas. One of my most active friends is someone who recovered from cancer 10 years ago and is determined to make the most of whatever time he has left. I do hope you manage to seize whatever day your heart desires.

    Great photo, by the way 🙂

  2. Thanks for this athinkingman. By-the-way I like your new domain very much.
    Being faced with something like your friend has faced is life changing.
    It’s not about just grab and go and do what ever, but simply thinking about how you wish yourself and your life to be remembered by.
    I know how I want mine to be a remembered for but that’s another tale.

Leave a Reply

