Posted in achievement, Art, Skills, Thoughts, Uncategorized, Women

For Tomorrow.

I thoroughtly enjoyed creating the pictured floral wreath for a funeral tomorrow. It felt pleasing to have not lost my touch since my floristy training over 10 yrs ago. There is not much time to do this kind of work very often.

I thought back to my days as a florist student in the shop as I snipped and created. I loved the smell of the flowers and foliage and the company and busyness as we were all working, say on Mother’s Day.

After yesterdays frustrations with technology, it was good to be back on familar and lovable ground tonight.

Another thought was why don’t I try to combine this interest with my other passion of women’s issues. To use this skill for the good for others. A flower work shop with a minimal charge-donated to charity, or simply a women’s awarness day. I could teach people to create and wear their own buttonhole or corsage for Women’s International Day as one example.

My hesitancy and lack of confidence in people being interested often get the better of me with this kind of thing. I should just be bolder. What do you think?

This piece is for a man I hardly knew as I attend his funeral tomorrow in Lincoln. But I know I have created many pieces which have both brought joy and comfort to people’s lives. My husband is thrilled to bits with this, for his late Uncle, and it has only cost £6.OO, plus having an already existing wreath base in my workshop. Much cheaper than inter-flora and with a personal touch.

I may be little use with computers and gagets sometimes, but perhaps, I don’t have to feel so inadequate when there are other skills one possesses. I was pleased that I had not lost my ‘nack’ with this anyway and wanted to share my thoughts and feelings with you.

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

One thought on “For Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

