Posted in Change, goals, Ideas, Personal Growth, Relationships, Skills

New Year, New Start, New Beginnings

Hello blogging world. How I have missed being here.

Just wanted to say a few words. I am now back to blogging after a period of absence caused by severe stressful events. However, I have learnt a lot from these, about myself and about what I need to do to become a more effective person, rather than just being an efficient person. Times have been hard, pain has been extreme and there may be still more stress and pain to come. But, I have crossed an important threshold and turning point in my life of which there is no return.

While essentially my basic personality and character will stay the same, key changes do have to be made in the way I act and think in the future. My priorities have to be appraised and my goals fine honed and made much more specific. That does not mean to say my acting and thinking has been totally flawed- not at all, just re-adjusted so I am not open to exploitation, being taken advantage off, and not  in a way which could compromise me and my deeply kind and caring character. This has been my experience in recent times and it has been very painful. Open, honest and vulnerable, yes: trusting to a point yes. But, to be more guarded and wise when it comes to other people, their motives and their actions. I also need to think more about myself and less of what others do and think, though I remain committed to caring for people and fostering love and friendships.

My own personal and professional boundaries have had to be examined closely and mistakes realised with courage and not perceived as failure. This will hopefully protect me and my family more in the future.

So enough said for now. I still have been, from time to time, looking at other blogs. Now time to get back in on the written scene, if that make sense.

Happy New Year to you all. I placed a new callendar up today and this action seemed very smybolic. New start and new beginnings. What could be a better time than in the month of January 2009.

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Start, New Beginnings

  1. Oh good, I am glad you have come back to blogging.

    Maybe you should try to use it to help you sort things out in your mind. It is possible to do that without being specific about events or people. I have always found it a helpful way to work things through – but then that is me and perhaps not you.

    I think the trick is to focus on yourself. You can still care about others when you focus on yourself (because caring is something you as a person do) but not get too worked up about what they think. Well, that is what I am trying to do. I feel very positive about it all since I read the Seagulls post which ATM wrote and made it one of my resolutions.

    I am so sorry you have had such a difficult and unpleasant time recently but am happy that you are making changes and that you seem positive about those yourself.

  2. Thank you my two dear bloggers and friends for your kind words, support and encouragement. I am so glad to be back.

Leave a Reply

