Posted in achievement, Change, Commitment, goals, Learning, Liberation, Personal Growth, Psychology, Skills, Sport, Thoughts, Writing

A Prison

 

A prison was often not of walls when you are free.

A prison can be a place where you yourself can place thee.

A prison may be a state of mind that surrounds you.

A prison might be a frozen place for thoughts that haunt too.

A prison could be a place of silence, fears and tears.

A prison is often a place where you stay for many years.

A prison is where you never see the sun rise or set in peace

A prison is a world which may or may not cease.

A prison does not have to be a cell in some lonely jail.

A prison may be can be where you are now, because the change has failed.

 

Don’t let it.

Break free from the fears, the barrier and the pain.

Find the key to unlock the door.

My battle to break free from the phobia of water, when trying to swim and float on my front continues. It is a hard call. I have nearly given up on more than one occasion, but if I do I would have failed myself most of all. I have to go on trying as I have succeeded on my back.

 

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

3 thoughts on “A Prison

  1. It’s a very moving poem and a very powerful image to encapture the extent of the feeling you experience in relation to swimming on your front. Thank you for sharing it.

  2. wow i really enjoyed this . Not only is it well written but it speaks the truth. i spent 3 years in prison but was more free there then the years before i went. Now i have taken my freedom that i found in prison with me . Now i am more free then i ever been and i found that freedom behind the walls of the federal pen.

Leave a Reply

