Posted in achievement, Change, Liberation, Personal Growth, Relationships, Thoughts

Reflections

pond

 

I stare at my reflection in the water.

A calmness in the storm, my mind is strong and certain.

This image is a pond for the many eye that view

but for me, it conveys much more than anyone can know.

The reflection is like a crossroads for me, personal, painful.

But the calmness of the water fills me already with its healing touch.

This water gives me strength as I drink and have courage in my heart.

For I am worth more than water, than air and earth.

I am my own creation and I stand at this reflection of change.

With my new found voice, in words and in spirit,

I am facing uncertain times which require courage.

Facing failure, yet also success in my new found image of myself.

Drowning yet floating, despairing yet hoping,

of a better life and a new sunrise at dawn.

To love myself more and to be loved in return.

I stare at the reflection,

it winks back at me.

Go on girl be brave,

take the future, and with those words already penned, hold the future in your hands.

Stroke the water, ripple the reflection and cause a stir no-one will forget. 

 

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

6 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. Thank you. Appreciate your words. Actually the words may appear nice but the reality of what I am saying is far from nice.

  2. I was very touched by this.

    I liked the central image of the reflection perfectly capturing the sense of two parts, but different – the same, yet profoundly not the same. And that too fitted the mixed feelings about the future – both floating and drowning at the same time.

    I liked the powerful sense of strength that came through – despite the pain and the challenge of the crossroads. The cumulative effect of ‘strong’, ‘certain’, ‘strength’, ‘courage’, ‘certain’, ‘healing’, ‘calm’ was compelling.

    I was left just wondering what the unforgettable stroking of the water will be.

  3. Evocative poem.

    I think I have been at that point – or one very like it- and it is hard to be brave and cause ripples. Very hard, particularly when you have to watch the effect the ripples have on everyone else. But for me it was worth it. I hope you feel able to do whatever it is you feel you need to do. Bon courage!

  4. Trouble for me was I was going to create such a stir, I was so convinced. But I am in a check mate position, no one has listened.

Leave a Reply

