Posted in Change, Children, Debate, Doglovers, families, Home, Learning, Modern society, Relationships, Thoughts, Time

Girlie Morning

I have had a great weekend but especially yesterday morning. My daughter and I sometimes have, what we call, a girlie morning. Having to work a lot of weekends at the moment due to staff shortages, I wanted this weekend off to be something a bit more special. What I learned from it is that one adventure and spontaneous moment can lead to another and that the little things in life are the best.

Our girlie morning was well planned yet it wasn’t and it turned out to be great fun. I said to my daughter one thing I had learnt recently. IF you promise something do it. If you can’t, say no. Perhaps as parents we realise that we promise as much as we can and sometimes can fail to deliver, when in fact it is better to say no in the first place. Anyway, I promised my 13 yr old daughter a trip to a beautician and had booked it weeks before for-filling my promise. Our morning was planned around this.

We went to a very nice lady who worked from home and, therefore, it was not a fortune in cost. She had her own building in the garden and the experience was no less than any salon. There were still the beautiful smells, the fresh white towels and the delicious atmosphere with tranquil music. I am not used to pampering, having had only two other such experiences in my life time as presents. Always saying I could not indulge in such frivolity, (think of all those starving people in the world), But I thought, well I am still doing what I can to make a difference in the world, so why not have something nice for a change.

Feet and hands were pampered, eye brows plucked and tinted. We had two treatments each and it only cost us £20.50, a bargain I thought. We told the lady we were going to shop in town and the usual parking problems. She advised us to take the ferry. In over twenty years of living on the wash we had never caught the ferry. Kathryn said it sounded fun and I agreed. so we left the car and took the ferry. The five minute ride for a pound was magical. I could see all the river photo opportunities I had missed. Why had I not done this before.

In town we said “where first” and hit Costa Coffee and had freezing cold citrus fruit drinks and starred through the large windows. We were soon involved in a kind of game/activity. We sat and observed the people and watched the window of the world before us. We asked ourselves if the people looked happy, what were they doing, what they wore. We suddenly saw people we knew and waved to one and was waved back to. Suddenly, this was an interesting exercise. Lots of people were overweight, people, bags, pushchairs, ice cream. We looked at what they had bought, how many courting couples and the fact that many just walked with no conversation if they were with someone. Many looked expressionless, not happy or unhappy. It was absolutely fascinating to just watch and observe people’s behaviour. I learnt again in those few minutes to just be still and watch.

Then we hit the shops. Looking at tops, sunglasses, clothes. We tried on shoes and bought two pairs, vowing the dog would not be eating these new ones. We have had many shoe casualties since the arrival of our now 7 month old puppy. I always make a rule about how much money we will spend. This is good for my girl to know the value of and being sensible with money. We save up and then we split it in half. We count how much we have left. My daughter is excellent with this, spending some of hers on friends birthday presents knowing she has two parties to go to soon. I commended her for thinking of others rather than blowing all hers on just herself.

Soon with the heat we were getting tired. We decided to skip lunch and take the 1pm ferry back to the car, knowing there was food in the fridge at home. We had just about spent our allowance. The ferry ride back was great and we had time to look at the leaflet describing the history of the ferry run while we waited by the flood gates in Ferry Lane. Back in the car we chatted about how much fun it was and eager to show dad/husband our new purchases and eyebrows.

 We arrived in our village, windows down in the car. We could here the horn and smell the smell. “Chips,” we sang in chorus, “Follow that Chip van.” The car was flung round and off we sped to buy our chips, to go home with and eat with our lunch. Dad/husband was there, dog bouncing around. We all eat lunch in the garden, under the apple tree, and the dog had some chips too.

What I love about girlie mornings is it gives me and my only child the chance to talk about anything and everything. A lot of the time it is about friendships at school and fairly minor things and chit-chat, but there have been times when we have talked about the hard issues: drugs, smoking, sex, boys, all the main stuff kids need to say and know about.

Our next beauty treatment is already booked for July and the ferry will no doubt be taken again. This is going to become more of a regular thing. I experienced true happiness yesterday and it didn’t take a grand experience either: Just the simple things in life. But next time I will take the camera, there is a gorgous shot I want of the town’s quay line that I just have not noticed before.

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

3 thoughts on “Girlie Morning

  1. Sounds like a lovely day. And you are right about perfect times often being ordinary times. I find that is so true with my children. It is also the case that you have better conversations with children when chat just ebbs and flows as happens when you are doing things together and conversations are not artificial.

Leave a Reply

