Posted in Uncategorized

The Gift of life.

I lost a friend this week, aged 48, and another closer friend last year at age 42. I have thought about their lives and their passing and considered the impact these two people’s deaths has had upon me; and how much life is a gift to use or throw away. This most recent death was from alcohol and overuse of prescription pain killers. A silent and secret abuser of these substances, he leaves his next of kin, a frail and elderly mother, not only with debt but many questions as to why. She is understandly broken hearted. My other friend-a christian woman, who lived life to the full, was taken quite suddenly with a brain aneurism. She left a sad and lonely husband.

It seems to me no justice when it comes to some people’s lives and no fareness. Life indeed can seem pretty crazy.Why is it that some of us with a chance to live have destructive behavour and kill ourselves and others who so wanted to live, die? I who have a christain faith struggle with an answer.The only explanation I can feel is that we can have a choice as to how we live our lives but that we have no real certain power as to how it might end. Yes, We can try to lead healthy productive lives but is our destiny already set?

I have recently started exploring philosophy, through a children’s book my daughter bought. I wanted to study this subject as I can see how it helps with thinking and certainly writing. The last comment is one such philosophical question worth exploring further.

I have certainly passed the first flush of youth and now that the middle-aged years are upon me realise that time moves so fast. With these two deaths, and as my own time marches on, I have never felt the urge more acutely( until recently) to get on with what you want to do in your life. I don’t know how much time I have- for how ever long but I will treasure my life and constanly sweep away negative thoughts and behaviour. I will care for people and causes dear to my heart and will try to leave an impression behind, after I am no longer here.

Today, I see the beautiful blue sky and clouds after recent heavy rain and think of my two friends, no longer living to see the sky and feel the wind in their hair, and give thanks to the fact that I am still here; a feeling, living human being.

Author:

Committed to the education of children and the health and human rights of women and mankind. I also enjoy taking photographs and sometimes I write poetry.

One thought on “The Gift of life.

  1. Death, loss, grief… they have all been in the forefront of my mind as of late. Good luck with life. Living our lives while being mindful that we will at some point be no longer here makes every moment of every day more precious.

Leave a Reply

